Trimaran Concept

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by paulweiss, Sep 8, 2016.

1. paulweiss

paulweiss New Member

I'm new here - hi everyone!

So, since I had the pleasure to ride on a Dragonfly 920 in Kiel last year I am pretty stoked about the performance of multihulls.

I am a student of industrial design and engineering in Dresden. Last winter I did my internship at Audi industrial design. We had the chance to choose our own project so I decided to give it a shot and design my own trimaran.
    They liked the design but it is pretty hard to have a discussion with brilliant car-nerds who have never been sailing. And that's why I'm here. I want to share my design and see what you guys think about it.

I can share more photos and ideas from time to time if you like it.

PS: pls don't smash it instantly :rolleyes:

have a good day!
    -Paul

Attached Files:

2. Manfred.pech

Manfred.pech Senior Member

Welcome to the forum, Paul. Your Trimaran looks very nice and I like the design. But I do not know the displacement (etc.), your calcs for the folding crossbeams, the volume of the floats, the waterline beam of the main hull, the profile and the math for the foils. Kind regards, Manfred

3. Skyak

Skyak Senior Member

Good looking.

The position of the outer AKA hinges would be a problem. There is an exteme bending moment at that point and your hinge does not have the thickness. I won't even bother estimating.

If you put the hinge out over the AMA the bending stays in the solid aka and the hinge can have solid support added when sailing (a lock when amas are out).

4. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

I think it's gorgeous! Your ama foils might do better if the inboard tip was raised a bit similar to the TNZ foil in AC 34. The reason is to take advantage of the intrinsic heave stability of that type of foil. This may not be necessary because when the boat is heeled it should have the required dihedral to the horizontal portion of the foil.