Tri-purpose "Micro-Cat" concept

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by VBAjedi, Oct 20, 2004.

1. VBAjedi

VBAjedi Junior Member

I'm new here, so hope this isn't redundant. I did have a nice long troll through the archives, but didn't see anything directly related.

I'm a programmer by day, but for the last week I've been playing with the idea of designing a "Micro-Cat" that will serve three purposes. Loosely modeled on the Hobie Cat, it would be a 8'-9' catamaran (with a 5'-6' beam) that could be configured as a one-person sailboat, as a two-person stowable tender (for a 25' sailboat), or as a "mountain lake boat" that could be pulled like a trailer (with the pontoons stacked vertically) behind a mountain bike into small lakes that are only accessible by trail. The basic construction would be fiberglass over foam (the pink insulation board from my local building supply) for the pontoons, with two aluminum crossbeams and an optional two-piece mast (from a sailboard?). My initial sketches have the pontoons being 12" wide by 12" high, with a "Lightning"-style streamlined prow and a hard chine on the outboard edge for improved tracking when under sail. A 5'x5' mesh "trampoline" will be stretched between the crossbeams.

The total target weight would be 100 pounds or less. I want to have a minimum of 250 pounds of flotation in the lower 8" of EACH pontoon, giving me 500 pounds of total flotation with 4" freeboard on the pontoons. To achieve this I calculated (based on 60 lbs of flotation per cubic foot of foam) that I will need at least 4 cubic feet of foam in the lower 8" of each pontoon, for a total of 8 cubic feet submerged. I suspect that I will have to compromise in the area of streamlined design (and thus, sailing performance) to get this flotation in. But I'm willing to accept some compromise as part of the price to pay for a multi-purpose toy.