Trailer usage for launching

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by narnold, Feb 16, 2012.

1. narnold

narnold New Member

Hi. I am a Design Engineer at the University of Nottingham, currently undertaking my final masters project with the topic of watersports transportation and security. My main focus is on how to improve trailers for boat users. Please complete my short online questionannire (use link below) or leave any comments if you wish to help. Any answers are anonymous and much appreciated. Thank you
    http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/VYTHVZD

2. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

Jeez... dont have the patience for the questionnaire.

One problem with boat trailers is storage once the boat is in the water. Why not reduce a trailers footprint when not in use ?

Many boat owners damage there boats during storage because they didnt raise the tongue high enough to allow any water which leaked into the boat to drain out of the transom plug. Why not build a bubble level into the tongue ?

Tires are damaged when the boat sits on them during storage Why not make it easy for a boater to jack up and block the trailer ?

Each year boaters spend millions repairing trailer lights . Hmmmmmm...............................

3. Willallison

Willallison Senior Member

The emergence of good LED trailer lights that are completely sealed all the way up to the front end of the trailer has done away with most of the lighting issues.
    But the bloke who comes up with afoolproof bearing and brake systems that don't fall apart the after the 1st time it's dipped in salt water.... well.... he'll be my hero.

4. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member