SUP/flats-skiff hybrid in foam

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by FlyLight, Jan 1, 2017.

1. FlyLight

FlyLight New Member

Hi everyone. Newbie here, so be gentle :)

I have a lot of experience in designing building high-performance RC model gliders in foam/glass/carbon, and like the idea of building a small flats boat for sheltered water using the same construction.

I have little boat design experience, but whether water or air, it all seems like fluid dynamics to me... I have a bit of experience sailing dinghies and cruising yachts.

I can't find the boat I want in Australia, as not a lot of people fish the sort of water I want to fish. There are a few boats from the USA that suit, but would cost $5000AUD by the time I get one here. I can make one for about $700 in materials!

I kind of want a hybrid between a 12ft sailing skiff, flats boat, SUP-board, kayak. Easy then! (????)

My design brief is:
    -Light enough for me to lift onto rooftop alone (I weigh 62kg) and plane with a <4hp motor (so I don't need to register the boat) = <25kg (60lbs) (should be easy with intended building methods)

-Fast enough on the plane to cover a few kilometres (10-15kts would be plenty)

-Slick enough at rest to pole or paddle standing up, or use with oars and rowlocks.

-Stable enough at rest to stand and cast a fly rod (with a thigh-height lean-bar).

Max size 3.6m LOA x 1.2m beam (12ft x 3.8ft)