Submarines for a crazy novice

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Lecter, Sep 8, 2005.

1. Lecter

Lecter Junior Member

Hi how you all doing.
    please bear with me, half an hour i'd never looked at a forum so i'm kinda new at this.
    i know nothing about boats (well not compared to what i've just red, i'm not loaded, nor do i own a boat or live by the sea.

So here's a crazy turn, i wanna design and build my own submarine!!!!!!!!!!!!

other than seeking profesional help (i do know i'm insane) can anyone offer me any advice. :?:

2. D'ARTOIS

D'ARTOIS Senior Member

You are not the only one. The subject "submarine" has been over the counter earlier. Matter of factly, there are a small number of companies that do make them, for various purposes.

As you are apparently a novice, in whatever aspect, I have so my sincere doubts about the usefulness of such topics as designing a submarine - where lot's of money is involved to get even something on the drawing table.

In these cases, it is just waiting for accidents, so to speak.
    Nevertheless, some small submarines are made and used for little diving purposes and it is not said that it is impossible to build one, provided you have the knowledge, experience and, the money to buy the first two.

I know only of military - navy type of submarines. Drawings of the older pre-war vessels are available in the public domain, but even then, such creatures are beyond the funds of normal people.

Those playthings you might find in the diving magazines are even so expensive and if you can hold of a set of drawings then you are just on the first step of a long journey.

There are a few basic rules in designing sub's but also they can be played with.

I know of the story of a few guys in Holland, many years ago, who were busy to construct a submarine based on a pre-war Italian design of a mini-sub.