SOR for a boat to be built in Philippines

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Polar Bear, Sep 4, 2015.

1. Polar Bear

Polar Bear New Member

Hi everybody,
    I am looking for plans to built a boat I intend to build it and used it in Philippines.

I would appreciate if you had the time to comment this configuration.
    The Czarrina 30 from Devline

Here is my Statement of Requirements (SOR)

The boat is to be used to hookah dive (no diving tank aboard) while island hopping in Philippines. It would be used by a couple with the occasional visit of another couple. It should offer a living aboard autonomy of 4 to 5 days for the couple.

I have no experience with motorboat. I have only been on sailboats and have already discarded the idea of living on one or building one for many reasons I would prefer not to review again.

I have a little experience in boatbuilding (Jim Wharram Tiki 26) and the WEST system. I intend to hire one or two helpers and undertake the construction myself under the supervision of rxcomposite who has been kind enough to sort out previous configurations submitted to him. With my team, we will practice the stich and glue technic by building a small tender (Polliwog, by Devline) before engaging in the main project.

When I will start the project, I will have 30 000 $ CAD (23 000 $ US) and be able to inject every month another 2 000 $ CAD (1 500 $ US). I estimate that 8 months will be necessary for the completion of the boat. That leaves me with an approximate 35 000 $ US for building the Czarrina 30 in Philippines.

Rough passages will be avoided but the boat should be seaworthy and have a range of about 450 nautical miles. Range and fuel economy are more important than speed. The fresh water capacity will be supported by the addition of a water maker.

The equipments’ list will include minimally, a head with holding tank, sink in the head and galley, shower, fridge, microwave, the diving compressor, water maker and power windlass.