Small trailorable houseboat design help!

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by kycountry, Jan 15, 2011.

1. kycountry

kycountry New Member

Hello, I'm a newbie on the forums, but have been doing some research on boat building.. I have limited fiberglass/gel coat experience working on my own boat repairs. Also limited fiberglass parts building for a couple custom cars I worked on.

I am working on a project design for me and the kids to work on in the summer, hopefully having it ready for launch spring 2012. This project would be a small houseboat that I can load on a trailer and pull behind my 3/4 ton 97 chevy 4wd with a 350 v8 and bull dog trans.

design ideas are:
    main hull size is 8' wide, 28' to 32' long. foam filled under front and back decks.
    foam fill areas in the hull that isn't used by fuel, water, or black water storage tanks.

3' wide removable decks for both sides (in 8' length or less sections for each side) with foam filled bottoms. these would be stored on top when transporting the boat on the trailer.

I would like to use the full 8' width minus the wall thickness as living space. I would also like to use fiberglass for the hull, walls and the roof/sundeck top.

My questions are:

Is this feasible?
    Would a flat bottom hull be stable enough to carry the load?
    What thickness fiberglass mat would you use and how many plies for the hull?

Any other input would be greatly valued as this is my first attempt at boat building and a major project!

Thank you for your time!

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Before getting any laminate schedules, you got to provide a design with displacement. That is what determines the thickness of the laminate, reinforcements, etc. You may be better off buying an existing design.

3. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

Welcome to the forum, kycountry.
    Knowledge of load-bearing structures would be helpful.
    Also, plan at least 1 cubic foot of flotation for every 63 lbs of boat plus cargo.