Single Car Ferry Project

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by greg.dillow, Dec 14, 2010.

1. greg.dillow

greg.dillow New Member

Hello I hope someone can help. I am currently studying mechanical engineering at college and as part of the course I have to complete a project. I have decided to design a temporary means of crossing a river for a vehicle up to 4.5m long, 2m wide and up to 3.5 metric tonnes. The way I have chosen is by boat. Could someone please give me some basic calculations that I need to consider. I understand that I will need to make sure the Centre of Buoyancy is below the Centre of gravity to prevent it capsizing and that the upthrust is equal to the weight of the displaced water. Other than that I have little or no lnowledge on it, please help.

Thanks in advance..

Greg

2. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

Great project Greg, you have much research to do.

Buoyancy = 62.5 pounds per cubic foot.

Your reserve buoyancy should equal your gross weight.

Will it be propelled or on a tow line across the river?

Are you sure about your CofG vs CofB statement?

-Tom

3. greg.dillow

greg.dillow New Member

Hi Tom
    No I'm not sure about that statement, that is what I have been told.

Thanks for your help.

Greg

4. indianbayjoe

indianbayjoe Senior Member

5. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

Munson Packman looks like a great boat. You need to scale it to your metric needs.

1 litre of water weighs 1 kilogram, yes?

6. hoytedow

3500 litres volume displaces cargo. Must add enough litres volume to account for weight of boat, crew, power, fuel and gear plus safety margin. Extra freeboard to allow for errant rogue waves and other factors.

7. hoytedow

Centre of buoyancy will vary with wave action listing of hull happens in rough water. Assume only use will be on flat water?

8. hoytedow

What is that little river to the west of Guildford?

9. rambat

rambat Member at large

Amphib