The Secret Of Canoes

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by D'ARTOIS, Jan 27, 2005.

1. D'ARTOIS

D'ARTOIS Senior Member

My mother used to tell me often - when I was a little boy - about the beautiful Canadian Canoe she had when she was young. Made of wood and much more beautiful than the majority of the plastic bunch that floats along our summer residence in France.

Workpressure becomes less and I would like to have for my own grandchildren the so beautiful made crafts as are showed in the photogallery of BearMountain crafts.
    For a fast floating river, 2.00 mtrs/sec, eddy's here and there, what will be the best design for general purpose i.e. me, my son and two children, in total 170 kgs plus a bit of gear as extra.
    The best I like the Hiawatha design as well as the Trapper? No other name, Redbird.

I am not a canoe expert and I have no idea about their particulars.

Please advise

2. icetreader

icetreader Senior Member

3. JEM

JEM Senior Member

There's different ways to build a canoe. Stitch and glue, woodstrip, skin on frame, canvass, all have their tradeoffs.

A couple S & G designs at http://www.jemwatercraft.com

4. D'ARTOIS

D'ARTOIS Senior Member

Thank you Jem, you have got something I am looking for, however not for my grandchildren. Will contact you by e-mail.

Canoeing is one of the favourite leisures in (or on) the Dordogne River in SW France. In the summertime a nice river, not streaming too fast, and literally 1000's of families daily descend the river in rented canoes. The river goes from deep (4.00 meters) to kneedeep. Engines are allowed till 7 hp. The river is unnavigable for normal boating, the only boat you see is the kayak and canoe. The local fishermen use the pirogue.
    The hullshape is for a canoe just as important as it is to any other boat.

There must be a "secret"behind it that makes one design better than just a regular one.

5. JEM

JEM Senior Member

Some random thoughts: