sail making

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by longtailboats, Dec 7, 2010.

1. longtailboats

longtailboats Thai sean

Sail making question
    Hello,
    My first question and I do know I should make it simple and easy to answer. I am an experienced amateur boat builder who has built his first sailboat. This question is about sail making, something I have never done, the mast and boom are nearly finished. I’ve about figured out how to do it thanks to this great video at ehow http://www.ehow.com/videos-on_1864_sailmaking.html . My boat is a catamaran anyone can see at my site http://longtailboats.webs.com/ . I have only one question that has been nagging me concerning mainsail leech, luft and foot round. I have built the mast and boom modeled somewhat after the Hobie cat, where the lines run inside the sail luft, leech and foot. He is making a jib and that is different than the mainsail that I am making. In the video the leech, luft and foot are curved. I don’t see how that would work for a mainsail styled after the Hobie because the foot is captive in the boom so how is a curve even possible? As far as the leech and luft is concerned the lines would straighten the curve and bunch up the sail when tightened or will it bunch up? so the question finally is should I have any round, in the leech luft or foot of my mainsail and can anyone offer any advice and websites to go to for more sail making instructions?
    Thanks from Thailand,
    Thai Sean

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

The curve, when it is forced into a straight track, is what gives the sail its shape. A flat sail will only work downwind.

3. longtailboats

longtailboats Thai sean

do you meen at the boom?

I stlll domt understand. I built a model sail and the way I cut the panels gave it camber. I dont see how ciuving the luft leech or foot does this or why. I need to know why.

Thanks
    Thai Sean

4. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready