Rudder design for solar boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by lost at sea, Jan 20, 2004.

1. lost at sea

lost at sea New Member

I was researching rudder design options when I had stumbled upon this forum site. I am currently a mechanical engineering student who is doing a senior design project on the rudder design and steering mechanics of our team's solar boat that competes in June.

While the first semester I spent designing what I thought was an acceptable rudder profile and geometry, my advisor seems to think intuitively that my design is flawed. I chose to use a NACA 0012, quater elipse profile since, through research, I concluded that the lift to drag ratio would be maximized at this thickness. I then proceeded to test various spans and depths using the Visualfoil software. My final geometries were chosen to be a span of 7 inches and a depth of 11 inches. The profile is to be constructed using the balanced 80/20 technique. This was the most efficient performing profile I could design that could be actuated using the power from the gearmotor produced by the steer-by-wire design that an electrical engineering student placed in the boat last year.

I plan to use a set of dual rudders mounted directly behind the slipstream of the dual prop configuration. I also have to mount it at the transome of the boat due to the placement of the twin screws in relation to the stern of the boat (limited space caused by other boat circuitry).