Rowboat design feedback?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by John Larkin, Jun 15, 2006.

1. John Larkin

John Larkin Junior Member

Hi All,

I'm hoping to get some feedback on this 16' rowboat design. This is my first boat design, I'm teaching myself Rhino. I've built two small boats.

I am fairly serious about building something like this someday. I plan on using thin (3mm?) plywood completely encapsulated in glass/carbon/kevlar to be light and low-maintenance.

Intended use will be (hopefully) high-performance single-person rowing on a mountain lake that can be calm one minute and roaring 25 mph winds 20 minutes later.

Would like to also load it occasionally with two people (one rowing) and some lunch or camping gear and maintain decent trim. It will probably need a rowing seat that can be moved.

Again, I'm looking for feedback from experts on this design, as I am not a boat designer!

Is it deep enough? i.e. vertical depth at beam. 13.5" as drawn.
    Does it strike a good balance between speed and stability?
    Will it be reasonably fast?
    Would anyone be willing to place a dot where the oarlocks should go?
    Does it need a skeg?
    What length of oars would be recommended with 4' 6" beam?
    Any construction suggestions?
    Flotation suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

John Larkin
    www.machine-language.com

Attached Files:

2. SeaSpark

SeaSpark -

Feedback

Short answer:

-For a high performance rowing boat it is much to wide.
    -The distribution of displacement seems wrong, looks like the boat will float "bow down" in the water.
    -The hull has a bit to much rocker. Stern seems to high.
    -The boat will look better if the top chine is wider near the front.

Longer answer: