Roll Stabilization

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Portager, Jun 1, 2002.

1. Portager

Portager Senior Member

I'm trying to decide what roll stabilization to use on Portager and I would appreciate inputs from the list.

Since the Admirable isn't too keen on rough riding boats, good roll stabilization is a definite requirement. Since I need roll stabilization underway and at rest and I can't afford active roll stabilization that leaves steadying sails and paravanes. Since Portager will have a get home sail, I could use the sail for roll stabilization and avoid the added complexity of the paravane outriggers and launching and recovering them while underway.

So the main question is, which would be the most effective roll stabilization option. The sail or the paravanes?

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Cheers;
    Mike Schooley

2. Willallison

Willallison Senior Member

I have very little experience with roll stabilization beyong the use of a relatively small steadying sail that is aboard my fathers 36ft Cheoy Lee 'trawler'. The sail did have a noticable effect but the boat doesn't roll too badly anyway so we only used it a few times for the fun of it.
    I would have thought that paravanes would be a much more effective stabilization system, but there are definite downsides to their use - such as a reduction in fuel economy and the danger that can be involved when they come out of the water.
    The main reason for my post however is to suggest that you check out a couple of the recent issues of passagemaker magazine ( http://www.trawlertravel.com/cgi-bin/site.cgi? ) They had some very good articles on the design, installation and use of paravanes. (Can't remember exactly which issues sorry...)

3. Willallison

'was just looking at their site myself and noticed that the current (May / June) issue has an article dedicated to this very subject

4. Portager

Portager Senior Member

Built for but not with

Thanks for the response.