Resistance vs. bottom design, small boat, slow speeds

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Russ Kaiser, Jan 13, 2010.

1. Russ Kaiser

Russ Kaiser Exuberant Amateur

Hey everyone,

Since this is my first post maybe I should give a little background: I have lurked here for quite a while. I have wanted to design and build a small boat primarily for throwing on top of my minivan or in the back of my truck to row and fish on the many lakes near my house. I have wanted to start this project for a while and everything seems to be coming together to do it now.

As for my skills, I have worked many years with epoxy based fiberglass construction, I am a competent carpenter and wood turner, and I am blessed right now with plenty of spare cloth, resin, and all types of lumber and sheet plywood. In other words, I would not have to buy much to complete my project. It will be my first boat and I want to keep things simple.

My question revolves around slow speed resistance relative to bottom design. I created 3 very simple boats in Carene2008 all with identical bottom dimensions: length 12 ft., beam 3.5 ft., sharp prow, narrow transom, with a single plank side at 77 degrees. The first variant had a flat bottom, the second had a 7 degree dead rise, the third retained the dead rise and added a modest lift to the bottom profile both stem and stern.

Next I imported these designs into Delftship and determined equivalent drafts for each boat using two displacements 340 lbs and 500 lbs. I then ran the resistance for each boat at the two displacements. Surprisingly, there was virtually no difference in resistance for 3 knots at the smaller displacement and at the higher displacement, the flat bottom boat was slightly easier to push through the water.