Recommended texts

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by losixfor, Mar 26, 2010.

1. losixfor

losixfor New Member

Hello, I am new to the fourm and boat design as well. I'm looking at designing and building a rowing shell. It will be a two man sculling boat used for competition, with sliding seats and the hole bit. I would like to be able to rig the boat for solo recreational/workout use as well. I've searched a few threads and found one in paticular that was interesting, but wasn't really what I had in mind.

To give you a little bit of my back ground, I have a mechanical engineering degree and I've been around boats my entire life. When I was a child I built a boat for a weed eater engine. It didn't end up working very well due to some serious cavitation problems. Since then I've never thought about designing a new boat until now. However, I do consider my self somewhat skilled with my hands as well. I've done some boat repair in the past as well as other major fiberlgass projects. I was on the rowing crew in college and now that I'm a few years into my career (I do work in design, however its a totally unrelated field) I'm thinking about getting back into the sport.

Anyways, I have no idea where to start. Can someone recommend me a text for this type of boat that someone with my technical background can appreciate. I'm unfamiliar with boat related design terminology and what the important parameters to design for are. I want to educate myself before starting so I don't waste a time and money. Basically I'm admitting I know nothing about boat design, however working in design grants me access to design software pro-engineer, autocad, and hopefully in the near future we can get our fluent license back $$$.

I appreciate your time and any respones I recieve.

Aaron

2. daiquiri

daiquiri Engineering and Design

Hello,