Powered O'Day Javelin

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by fredrosse, Feb 16, 2012.

1. fredrosse

fredrosse USACE Steam

I have a 14 ft Javelin planing sailboat hull that I converted to an electric cruiser (3/4 HP) years ago. Now I want to put a flash steam plant into the hull and go fast (I know, that is a relative term), with 10 to 15 horsepower.

The total weight will be 1000 pounds, maybe a little less. I have a 1 inch diameter shaft installed, with the motor mount just forward of the original centerboard well location. Of course, the centerboard well has been cut out, and a stern tube/propeller shaft glassed into the hull. The electric drive setup swings a 14 x 17 three blade prop, and makes about 5 MPH.

Any comments welcome, especially any indication of what speed might be expected. I have no knowledge of planing hulls, we steamboaters usually cruise along at displacement hull speeds.

2. Stumble

Stumble Senior Member

I think the first time you put the boat in the water it is going to sink. The Javelin was designed for a crew weight of around 500lbs. Your 1,000lb rig plus a 200lb person plus gear means you are going to be somewhere around three times designed weight. If you don't sink, I would be absolutely shocked if you can get up on a plane with the boat that much overloaded.

3. fredrosse

fredrosse USACE Steam

The Javelin Electric routinely carries 4 Adults (750 pounds) plus outing supplies (say 50 pounds), plus 2 marine batteries (128 pounds) plus motor/drive system (say 50 pounds), so that is almost 1000 pounds without the weight of the hull/shaft/prop etc.

The 1000 pounds I mentioned in the initial post is total displacement, with boat, steam plant, and one person. This boat has a potential good advantage compared to typical outboards, in that it swings a 14 inch prop, which can give much better propulsion efficiency.

So the question still remains, what power/speed relationship might be expected with the proposed setup?

Attached Files: