performance racing

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by schwing, Dec 17, 2004.

1. schwing

schwing Junior Member

I am investigating whether the design issues involved in performance racing dinghies, reflect those involved in modern day racing yachts. And also am interested in the type of people who sail both racing dinghies and yachts and whether they find one more appealing and why? if anyone can suggest areas of research or discussion which may be useful, i would be most grateful.

2. CT 249

CT 249 Senior Member

I'm not a designer, but I've been interviewing many of the top dinghy designers.

The typical performance dinghy (if there is such an animal) seems to be quite a different beast to the modern racing yacht. The dinghies must perform through a huge range of speed, from fast planing speed when control is of the essence because the hull can sometimes be entirely out of the water, to moderate planing speeds, hull speed and low speeds.

In contrast, very few (if any) yachts plane fast for a significant proportion of the time; an Open 60 planing speed is much slower than a skiff planing speed if one looks at speed/length ratios AFAIK. The Open 60 is probably (almost certainly) slower in absolute terms in top speed, faster at the bottom speed.

Other factors include the fact that some dinghies must be designed to be sailed at heel (like a 12' skiff which has a huge rig) while others (16' skiff) have different SA/RM ratios or other factors and can therefore be designed to sail upright.