Outrigger balance

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by jdoorly, Sep 22, 2003.

1. jdoorly

jdoorly New Member

I am considering adding a sail and and outrigger to a kayak but am concerned about the imbalance of hydrodynamic forces between the smaller outrigger hull and the main hull. Doesn't this imbalance cause huge lee helm? Is this overcome by balancing the center of effort of the sail against the total hydrodynamic drag?

2. d munkelt

d munkelt Guest

There shouldn't be any problem with helm balance.
    Triamarans have just two hulls wet at a time, and the helm balance is superbe. Multihulls really don't develop helm problems like monohulls.

3. sorenfdk

sorenfdk Yacht Designer

I'm not an expert when it comes to multihulls, but the reason why they don't develop helm problems might just be because the designers have balanced the center of effort against the hydrodynamic drag and the center of lateral resistance.

I can't believe it's just a part of their nature...

4. Stephen Ditmore

Stephen Ditmore Senior Member

What I've heard is that the lead (leeed) should be about zero, which means to me that the 25% chord line of the daggarbord/centerbord/leeboard/or keel should be right under the rig's center of effort. I've never calculated whether this is the case on my Catapult catamaran, but my mast rake is easily adjusted, and I know what setting works.

An interesting thing about the Catapult is that the mast can be canted to windward. The effect of doing so on the helm is pronounced, however.... it causes lee helm. If the rig is raked aft to compensate it becomes tough to get the boat to come out of stays when tacking (with the mast rake reduced the boat tacks easily).

If you plan to carry a big rig, diagonal stability is important to consider. Trimarans generally carry the floats as far forward as weight distribution will allow. Kayaks don't generally pile on the canvas, though, so they have more latitude where float placement is concerned.