Outboard motor transom design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by mainsail, Apr 2, 2013.

1. mainsail

mainsail New Member

I am a yacht designer and am currently designing an 8meter motorised catamaran tender. The outboard motor will be centrally mounted at the correct transom height. The motor is 50hp and I envisage cruising at 15 knots with a top speed of around 22 knots.
    My question is do I just leave the outboard motor with no transom or should I create a transom that is finished at the water level similar to most planing power boats. What is most efficient to get the best thrust from the motor?
    Thanks for your help.

2. J Feenstra

J Feenstra Junior Member

Welcome to the forum mainsail,

I would create a transom for the backwash when in preplanning mode, Why do you suggest those two sollutions? what are the benefits of them? maybe some pictures help to understand the question.

3. Richard Woods

Richard Woods Woods Designs

For sure add a transom!!! otherwise you won't do anything except make spray at speeds over about 8 knots

My Skoota designs may be similar to what you are doing. With a central 25hp my Skoota 20 does 15 knots, with a central 50 my Skoota 24 does 17 knots. My just launched Skoota 28 with twin 20hp does 16 knots

You can see videos of these boats here

http://www.youtube.com/user/WoodsDesigns?feature=mhee

and more on my website of course

Hope your project goes well

Richard Woods of Woods Designs

www.sailingcatamarans.com

4. garydierking

garydierking Senior Member

You definitely need something in front of the outboard leg or you will lose much of the motor's thrust through ventilation.
    This photo shows the fairing I put in front of the outboard on my motorized Tornado. I could not find any data on the best design for this but this one seems to work pretty well.

[​IMG]

5. Fanie

Fanie Fanie

I'll consider placing the single motor behind the one hull, I doubt it's going to make much difference.

6. Richard Woods