NEWBY need advice

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by kevthebuilder, Feb 12, 2009.

1. kevthebuilder

kevthebuilder New Member

hi everybody,i am looking for advice on what type of boat to build,i am dissabled so i will not be able to use sails so looking for something to take to europe that sleeps at least 6 and prefably has outboards and is pretty fast.
    i have experience with joinery,plumbing some basic electrics and welding.
    from what i have gathered so far i would prefer to use ply and cover it in fibreglass and epoxy,i am not in a wheelchair so steps are not a problem.
    i live near the river mersey and the plan is to hop around the coast to portsmouth to visit family and then across to france without hanging around too long in the shipping lanes and then on to the med.
    i have never built a boat before but have help from friends and i am confident in my ability,i have lots of time and not much money any advice will be gratefully recieved,thanks.......kev

2. drmiller100

drmiller100 Junior Member

would be a LOT cheaper to find an existing boat that needs a bunch of work and fix it.

3. robherc

robherc Designer/Hobbyist

1. What, EXACTLY is/are your disability(s)?
    That is the VERY FIRST thing that needs to be considered.

2. I would HIGHLY (and from personal experience) recommend that you do a couple "practice builds" of smaller boats before building your "big one." It'll take more time, and cost you a little money in the process, but in the end the knowledge & experience you gain will be PRICELESS.