newbie needs help - from design to real boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by richthofen, Jan 22, 2007.

1. richthofen

richthofen New Member

Hi there,

I'm a newbie to this forum and do have some basic questions, maybe sombody can help me. I'm planning to build my own fishing boat (using a MinnKota E-drive). I'm working now for about 6 months on the hull an the interior, but I do have some basic questions.

1. I downloaded several CAD trial versions and found, that I get along best with Maxsurf, great software, nevertheless I do not know how I get the hull on the paper in a technical drawing I can use to build the boat in reallife ( and I don't mean that I cant't print because of the trial version)

2.Which software can I use to plan the interior - should I use Maxsurf aswell using the trimming option ? But how can I get a technical drawing of all these surfaces with all dimensions I need to cut them out of sandwich material or wood or give it to sombody else to do the work ? So the problem is putting all the things I planned with maxsurf in a piece of technical drawings to build the boat or let it build.

3. Should I export the hull into another CAD software and plan the interior there ? What would be a good software if to do so.

Thanks for your help, because these are some questions I couldn't answer yet and I don't want to buy maxsurf and get to the point afterwards that I can't do what I wanted to

Thanx

richthofen
    :confused:

2. Willallison

Willallison Senior Member

Your questions are primarily software questions, rather than design - on that front you will probably get more responses by posting in the software threads.