Newbee with a brilliant idea needs your help!

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by kitetug, Dec 19, 2005.

1. kitetug

kitetug Junior Member

Newbee with a brilliant idea needs your help! (Kite + Water carrier)

Hi, I'm very new to designing boats, but I have a concept I want to explore. It is about a small water-carrying cargo ship powered by a kite.

Now I know that something like Skysails exists, but mine is different in that the hull of the ship the kite tugs, is not made of steel but of a fibre-reinforced polymer.

This means you save on several fronts:
    1. you use wind instead of very expensive oil (which is getting ever more expensive)
    2. you need a lot less power to pull a polymer bag (compared to a steel hull weighing thousands of tonnes)
    3. in short, you would almost ship your water for free!

The idea is to carry bags full of fresh water to places where water is scarce.

1. the idea of transporting water in bulk in bags exists: http://www.waterbank.com/Newsletters/nws12.html

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. the idea of using kites as traction and tug devices exist:

[​IMG]

Now I want to combine both. I would want to find out if a small "tug-boat" which is pulled by a kite, can translate the force of the kite to the bag.

1. Obviously, in my configuration the pull requirement of the kite is greatly reduced, because we're pulling a lightweight polymer bag, not a steel tanker weighing thousands of tonnes.

2. The problem is I'm not sure whether the translation of forces works out. As I understand it, a ship pulled by a kite levels out the sideward traction because at the same time there's a lifting force. This is the so-called "heeling moment compensation":

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]