New to Sailing Looking for a good Craft

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by bobnson2003, Apr 27, 2011.

1. bobnson2003

bobnson2003 New Member

I am new to sailing, like so new I dont even have a boat. I have been doing a lot of research and because I am a novice (sailed with other owners) looking for something small like 20 to 26 foot trailerable and of course affordable. I like the Macgregor because of the options it has for a beginner.

I would not want a 50hp motor though... Dont want it as a motorboat but want a motor. I am reading a lot of bad things about it so if anyone has suggestions to what might be an alternative.. I am all ears.. I do have a family and my kids know more about sailing then I do.. would like something that has a berth and head (porti-pottie) due to the size I am looking for.

2. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

May I ask what are the bad things you hear that put you off a Macgregor ?

I am asking only from a marketing perspective, not to discuss what is good and bad about boats in general.

3. whitepointer23

whitepointer23 Previous Member

what i have read about mac's is usually good reviews from owners and bad ones from people that have no experince with them. if the mac suits you just put a 20 hp on it.

4. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

I personally havent found a roomier, more versatile and value for money boat on the market yet.

I was out sailing the other month, and a new Mac passed alongside.

"Hey", I said to the sailing enthusiast, who had obviously never seen one before "There goes an example of the worlds biggest selling trailer sailor, and the designer has been inducted into the Sailing Hall of Fame for the design innovations"

"Oh really", he said "Its so bloody ugly", and turned his back on it to watch the 50yo wooden boats coming in from the ocean.

All a matter of personal priorities I guess.

5. kenJ

kenJ Senior Member