New Monohull/Multihull Hybrid Sailboat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by tatria, Feb 6, 2004.

1. tatria

tatria Junior Member

I am an Industrial Design student working on my thesis. My challenge was to create a sailboat about the size of a laser boat that could sail faster than a Laser 1. The price of it had to be about the same of a laser.

My design: I created an hybrid of a monohull and a multihull. At low speeds it will work as a displacement hull and a tunnel effect will be created under the sailboat to lift it from the water, reducing drag. Then it will start planing at higher speeds and will work as a catamaran providing enormous stability. It also has innovations in the keel and sail, but at this moment I`m interested in knowing your opinion about the hull.

Here are some renders:

http://auction4.comton.com/member/clatcam/rendertomy.jpg

http://auction4.comton.com/member/clatcam/renderborrador2.jpg

http://auction4.comton.com/member/clatcam/renderborrador.jpg

Thanks Tomás Atria

Santiago, Chile

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

I've been experimenting with something similar. There is potential. The problem with the wedge shape is that it will be very unbalanced. Look at sandbagger designs. They are very developed and tried.

3. tspeer

tspeer Senior Member

The I-20 (formerly M-20) inland lakes scow has just such a hull. It has the traditional scow sections at bow and stern, but the belly humps up into a tunnel that reduces wetted area. Like all scows, the I-20 is designed to be sailed at 15 degrees heel, which gets half the bottom out of the water. The I-20 has two bilge boards and two rudders that are angled out so as to be vertical when heeled. The windward board is retracted and rudders are short enough that the windward rudder is out of the water at the design heel.

[​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG]