new kid on the block

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by TomSawyer, Jul 31, 2010.

1. TomSawyer

TomSawyer Junior Member

Hi! my name is Tom and i am planning to build my own all plywood boat, 32' long 14' wide, 9.5' high, Catamaran style cabine cruiser with two diesel outboards...

I'm new to this so be indulgent, I'm JACK OF ALL TRAIDS but MASTER OF NON

and forgive my grammar I'm from Quebec in Canada (French Canadian)

So in short I'would like some advice on this project (Hull design, materials, etc...)

I did a bit of home work, I'plan to build the craft in my yard (outside) the with and hight is about the max I can go, (road transport regulation without a certain permit), I'm at half an hour drive of the ST-Laurens river so road traveling with the boat is required (2 times a year becaus of our cold winters)

I found out that a plywood boat is cheap but needs to be dry docked every year for hull maintenece so i am preparing space on my land (at home) to store my dreame boat...

I'm not sure in what I'm getting in to but please feed me with what ever you might have in mine that would keep the GRIMLINS out of my project ha ha!

Estimated time = 2 years (since i ownly can work on it in summer time)
    Estimated cost = 15000 $ canadian (just the boat) not the luxury, engine, electrical. plumbing, etc...

Thank's in advance...

2. terhohalme

terhohalme BEng Boat Technology

Welcome on board.

I will estimate your building time over 4 year (approx. 4 tonn of boat) and your cost over $60,000 US. Don't be scared, this is just my opinion. Send me this estimation after you have done it. If these numbers are too high, I'll be very humble.

3. TomSawyer

TomSawyer Junior Member

Wow!! if you didn't want to scare me you missed ha ha!...
    I've never estimated that much time, as for the price I was talking (just the boat) lumber, screws, epoxy and glue...