new boat project- input

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by wayne nicol, Oct 25, 2013.

1. wayne nicol

wayne nicol Senior Member

hi all
    quick background: i have a commercial liscence to run tours in a national park up here. the type of trips we are running neccesitates a high speed motor sailer, which we currently use, however we are needing to acquire additional boats(one at a time as funds allow).
    we need /want the boat to have an "old salty look" to it/ more traditional styling, yet have the performance capabilities that we need.

so for the last, long while we have been mulling a lot of thoughts and ideas over in our minds.
    i have made some initial sketches- these are all open to change, they have already morphed dramatically over a period of time

PLEASE NOTE: i am no boat designer, so please understand that this is purely a concept drawing, so sailplan, boards, waterline etc etc, have not been calculated or designed- this sketch would go on to the designer/s to give them an idea of what we are trying to achieve.

the top sides, and type of sailrig (schooner!) are areas that i need to retain.
    i have some other sketches of proposed "floorplan" and other design features, and maybe i can post those pics later on if need be.
    LOD 30'
    beam 8'6"
    standing room (6' and a bit!!)at the galley area(under the sliding hatch in the pilothouse
    sleeping accommodation for 4 to 6
    top motor speed around 20kn( give or take)
    single 100hp outboard or twin 50's- or whatever it needs within reason!

anyway this is a start, and i will go into greater detail as is requested- dont want to stretch the first post out too long

i am open to all input and ideas.

thanks all for the effort and input

please forgive the amateurish pic of the drawings- dont have a scanner and fancy software up here in deepest darkest north west!!;)

[​IMG]

2. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member