need help to find boat size and hull

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by sidthecoolguy, Sep 14, 2007.

1. sidthecoolguy

sidthecoolguy Junior Member

hi, i am a student working on a project for ASV Autonomous surface (water surface) vehicles.

Dont know much about boat designing.

We are trying to build an unmanned boat (small between 3ft-12ft long)
    I need help to figure out the the size of the hull (dimensions) of boat i need to carry a payload of 50lbs.

We are trying the buy the bare hull based on rc boats to make things easier.
    So need help in deciding which size to buy.

Also we are looking for maximum maneuverablity and speed is not an issue(max speed is 10mph). Would like to know which type of hull would be the best for this purpose (monohull, catamaran, triman etc.) some hull used for rc boats that i can get from the market for my purpose.

Thanx

2. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

The first place to start is to make an estimate of total weight.

A 50lb payload is not insignificant. Well beyond what most radio controlled boats will handle.

Payload 50
    Boat Hull 40
    Engine and drive 20
    Energy source 50
    Contols 10

Hence total displacement 170lb.

The best off-the-shelf type hull might be a sit-on kayak like the attached.

10mph for a hull like this is an issue. It will require more the 1HP. If you use a petrol engine then the weight of the energy source will come down but it will be noisier than electric. A 50lb battery might give some usable range.

If the payload is going to sit high then you might want greater stability so a catamaran might be better. If you keep heavy parts low it will help.

So if you do your own numbers on the total displacement there may be other options open up.

Rick W.

Attached Files:

3. sidthecoolguy

sidthecoolguy Junior Member

hey thanx for your help Rick

The 50lb payload includes everything, the engine, the props, the battery .....