need help builind main hull trimaran

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by aliaj00, Sep 20, 2009.

1. aliaj00

aliaj00 Junior Member

hi all i got the book "Building Outrigger Sailing Canoes" and it has some plans for some 3-4 person outrigger canoe. the question is how can i modify them in a usable trimaran to use around the beach.

i am a newbie so my questions are a little to stupid but a want to learn.

thanks all of you

2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Alliajoo; No question is stupid and you will not be regarded in that way here.

We will need a better description of what you wish to do and some information about the circumstances in which you will sail. Sailing off a beach in Hawaii is much different than sailing off a rocky shore in Nova Scotia. Expected sea state is another factor, along with usual sea bottom topography at the shoreline.

You could sail a Hobie cat off most beaches because they have no centerboards or dagger boards. They also have rudders that you can raise or lower from the helmsmans position. That is an important feature of boats that are to be sailed from the beach.

A three of four person boat will need to be 6 metres or more in length. Probably more. The amas or outriggers will need to be near that length. A boat that size will need 3 or 4 agile people to launch the thing into water that is deep enough to sail. Trimarans are kind of clumsy to launch and handle at sites that are difficult. If there is substantial wind then they are clumsy to launch in any case. Once sailing they are quite manageable unless there is congestion or much boat traffic in the area.