My first plywood cat.

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by nakamoomin, May 12, 2010.

1. nakamoomin

nakamoomin Junior Member

I've just abandoned another thread (link) regarding a cheap "tube-cat" as it was not worth it (for me).
    I quickly realized that I could make a much better craft with plywood as suggested by messabout and tom28571. The cost will be around 10% higher and it will require a little more effort, but in my opinion it'll be worth it.

About me:
    My name is Tom aka nakamoomin or naka and I am an Industrial Design Engineer from Norway with a newfound passion for catamaran sailing. I have extensive experience in SolidWorks, Catia etc but I found these cumbersome with regards to calculations, on-the-fly optimization of hulls etc. I've downloaded CARENE2008 and FREE!ship to help me with design of the hull shape and hydrostatic analysis. I have also downloaded Sailcut CAD to help me with sail-design later on.

My sailing experience is limited, but motivation is sky-high. ;) I've got some experience with Laser (racing dinghy, mainly for fun) and my classmates from Uni arrange an annual cruise along the coast of Norway and Sweden (30'+ monohulls, mainly leisure). My family has had powerboats during my entire upbringing and I am accustomed to the sea. However I've always been fascinated by sailing and I really got Cat-fever this Easter while sailing some Hobie rotomolds (Wave/Getaway) in Florida. Also, my mentor for my master thesis, mr Guy Lonngren has also been a great inspiration. (examples of his designs at http://www.guydesigngroup.fi) (PS: his wavepiercing designs for Kvaerner Massa are at least 10-15 years old)

Design brief:
    Mision: Design and build a handy-size (5-6m), safe, fun, affordable sailing catamaran made from plywood (no tormenting, though).

Vision: A platform suitable for recreational cruising (fun), but also racy enough to fly a hull and be interesting to an experienced crew (more fun!).