Most compact watercraft for offshore touring

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Bintz, Jan 22, 2010.

1. Bintz

Bintz Junior Member

Dear all

Hello, I'm a design engineer from Korea. Mainly play in bicycle forums

I'm going to introduce my simple idea for the most compact human-powered-boat using a flapper-drive - eg. Mirage Drive -. I have an experience of working with an inflatable boat maker, Woosung I.B. in Korea. And rode a Mirage Inflatable Kayak, i12s(12inches, 53lbs) several times with much pleasure. But the inflatable Mirage boats were too heavy to move from a car to a shore even if the distance would be very short

So I started to imagine a combination of a flapper-drive(7lbs) and an inflatable surfboard(10inches, 15lbs). If the combination would be possible, I thought it could be the most compact watercraft for offshore touring. Very long range of sea-trip seemed to be possible!
    [​IMG]

Following my virtual experiments, the problem is the light weight of the inflatable surfboard. The light weight permits the up-down vibration of bow easily then the big vibration makes the propulsion thrust of flappers small.
    [​IMG]

In more large view, the only one useful component of the Flapper-force is the Backward-force. The Side-force is not critical because it is offset by a side-force of the Rear-flapper. But the UpDown-force just lifts up the bow of the boat and then takes down it. If you are on the boat, it is hard for you to feel the up-down vibration of bow easily because your position is on the center of gravity. It is why the vibration is critical for the light inflatable hull that the light bow makes the Twist-angle of the flappers SMALL. The small Twist-angle means the small Backward-force. If you hope to go fast, you should move your feet very fast. The speedy moving of feet will make you crazy on the deck.
    [​IMG]

So my solution is quite simple at this introduction. The one Inertia-tunnel under the bow in front of the drive.
    [​IMG]