model solar boats - hull design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by woodyp, Mar 26, 2006.

1. woodyp

woodyp Junior Member

hey,

i'm a teacher running a programme for students to design and race model solar boats. the boats are made from styrofoam with a hobby motor.

i'd like to find out more about hull shape and propellor shape to help make the boats faster

2. bhnautika

bhnautika Senior Member

Mono or multi hull

3. JonathanCole

JonathanCole imagineer

4. woodyp

woodyp Junior Member

bhnautika

it doesn't matter mono or multi

5. woodyp

woodyp Junior Member

Jonathan,

Thanks for the reference and it's pretty interesting though i don't understand most of it having failed physics at school.
    It seems to be saying that planing mono hulls are faster. I sort of already knew that. I interested though in what makes for a fst monohull and for a fast multi.

6. SeaSpark

SeaSpark -

Solar boat design

I'd go for a catamaran design:

1: You need a large horizontal surface to put solar panels on, the space between the beams. A monohull would have to be very wide(much drag) to accomodate these.

2: In a solar boat you never know how much power you have, a planing monohull has high drag with lower speeds, a displacement monohull will never plane. The long and slender hulls of a catamaran are efficient in a much wider speed range.

3. Mount the motor between the hulls under the solor panel, then you wont need a trough hull propellor shaft as with a monohull.

As for hull form, make it long and slender, round bottomed, look at nacra cat (for example plenty of others around) for inspiration on hull form.

For propellor shape, it depends on the engine you plan to use, the weight and hydrodynamic qualities of your boat. perhaps the normal rules change on a small model propellor. You may consult a remote controlled model boat racing club on this?

Good luck with your project!

7. woodyp

woodyp Junior Member

seaspark,