Mathematical boat design method

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Wayne Grabow, Jan 5, 2009.

1. Wayne Grabow

Wayne Grabow Senior Member

I am a total amateur at boat design/building but have been using a mathematical technique to create developable hull shapes which I have not seen mentioned elsewhere, so I've done a descriptive overview with a sample hull shape. I know that it works because I have already built six boats using this technique. What I am wondering is if I "discovered" something that many others are already using, or might this be something new and possibly useful?

What I like is the absolute dimensional accuracy and resulting fairness of the hull shape. Dimensions are calculated before the surfaces are drawn. Working with developable surfaces should facilitate the building process also.

http://developable-surface-boat-designs.blogspot.com/

2. amolitor

amolitor Junior Member

I don't really see what's new about it, although I confess I did just skim. It does look like you've assembled a useful "toolkit" of techniques, and applied them pretty well.

I didn't see anywhere where you discussed "flattening" your surfaces out? Do you have a good way to do that, or do you just cut-and-try?

3. Wayne Grabow

My impression is that, traditionally, boats are designed by making scaled drawings, taking offsets from the drawings, and then scaling the offsets up to full size. When actual construction is contemplated, the design must be lofted to check for and correct scaling/drafting errors. With modern computer-based programs that may not be so. If so, then you are right that there may be nothing new here. I'd like to find out.