Looking for small (tiny) boat designer

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by David Allen, Dec 18, 2010.

1. David Allen

David Allen New Member

Hi,
    I'm not sure I'm on the right forum, but ...
    I'm looking for a boat designer to basically scale up an existing sharpie design from 14' to about 20'. The size limit would be to make the most efficient use of plywood.
    The goal is simplicity of build and rig, shallow draft, offshore capability.
    The existing design is built on stringers. I want the new design to be primarily stitch and glue.
    The designer of the existing boat has no interest in scaling the boat, though many people have asked for it.
    Yes, I know most people would say that this is not just a scale-up, but a completely new design. Not being a designer, I can't say for sure, though I do remember once reading that the designer said this particular boat would be infinitely scalable (OK, not infinitely). The designer himself has drawn concept drawings of a larger boat whose hull shape seems to be identical or nearly identical.
    I also understand that if a boat is at least 15% different from an existing design, then it is legally a new design. Not sure if I'm right on this.
    (Sorry, but I don't intend for this to be a discussion about scaling a boat or the offshore capability of a sharpie. I'm just looking for someone interested in the project.)
    I will give more details in private email if I can find someone who is interested.
    I am open to new disigners and recent grads. Cost is a factor. I'm also (probably) interested in owning the rights to the plans.
    Thanks,
    David

2. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member