looking for boat steel sail boat designes

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by discombobulated, Jul 8, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. discombobulated

discombobulated Previous Member

hey people ! my names matt and im a boilermaker by trade and ive been around boats most my life and now its time I build my own so im ideally after advice where to start with designs etc im not sure what type of boat would suit my needs as all the people that would normally give me advise have passed away. I live in Australia and im after ideas for a boat that I can travel around the world in with accommodation four upto four in comfort with plenty of storage etc I would like to build the boat from scratch so any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated

thanks people :)

2. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

Power or sail?

3. discombobulated

sail around the 37 42 ft

4. JosephT

JosephT Senior Member

5. discombobulated

thanks mate ill look into it now cheers

6. JSL

JSL Senior Member

also try
    www.simpsonmarinedesign.com
    there is a 40' cutter, 42' cutter, 43' ketch
    If all persons are adults, 37' might be a bit cozy. It's a good idea to talk with some experienced offshore people so you make the best choice.

7. WecBoat

WecBoat Navy Blue

Try it first. Buy a use boat, fix it and go. If you like it (travel around the world with a sailboat) you will not have the time to built one.

8. JosephT

JosephT Senior Member

You've got that right WecBoat...usually saves a lot of time and cost to buy one. If I were a welder I would buy one that may need some minor welding (to pacify my welding urge!), polish it off and hit the waves. :)

FYI Yachtworld.com is a good sight with a lot of steel hulled sailboats for sale in the 37 to 42ft range. Various prices.

9. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

PDW on this site is building a Tom Colvin design. It is a single chine, junk rigged 34 footer. A big engine and a cheap sail plan is a good philosophy.