Looking for a 12ft boat that will do it all

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ir0nma1den, Apr 16, 2015.

1. ir0nma1den

ir0nma1den Junior Member

Hello there,

I am fairly new to plywood boat construction though I have built a 1 sheet Hannu Sampan .

This time I would like to do it bigger. Here are my requirements:
    • Car toppable
    • Be able to use sails, oars, and a small outboard
    • hold 2-3 people
    • have 2 rowing/sculling positions
    • cheap to build

I have been looking a 2-3 sheet 12 foot skiffs. These seem to meet most of my requirements. I am no sailor by any means. I will mostly use this on the New River and a local lake in my area. The New River can get fairly shallow in some areas, so a low draft would be an added bonus. I intend to use exterior grade plywood and epoxy/fiberglass cloth from US Composites.

The Summer Breeze looks promising.

Hannu's 12 ft skiff also looks good.

Lastly, the Bateau Flat Skiff 12 looks good, but is it worth getting the plans? and could this be outfitted for oars, sails, and an outboard?

2. johnhazel

johnhazel Senior Member

Maybe go longer and narrower than the 12 ft skiff. You might look at 16-18ft canoes with rowing stations and small axillary sails. At these longer lengths, it's easier to get the shallow draft and they need less drive which allows smaller sail and daggerboard. Take a look at piroges for a build it yourself option. Also being narrower they can store easier too. http://www.unclejohns.com/boat/

For shallow water and small lakes a version with less rocker might be best.
    http://duckworksmagazine.com/05/designs/applegate/zydeco/zp-2.gif
    http://www.louisianasportsman.com/classifieds/pics/p1330793645496546.jpg

Last edited: Apr 16, 2015
  3. peterAustralia

peterAustralia Senior Member

having looked at a few rowboats, you must have seen by now that most rowboats of 12ft lenght are about 4ft wide. 4ft is a good width.