Length of ama on outrigger canoe?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by dogfuel, Sep 14, 2008.

1. dogfuel

dogfuel Junior Member

Bear with me ... I'm just beginning to figure things out...

Why are the amas on small outrigger canoes so long? Seem to typical be 75-100% of hull length.

It seems to shorter ama (still keeping a 16/1+) length/beam would put much less stress on the structure and still serve needed purposes ... not to mention be better to tack.

Any thoughts?

2. masalai

masalai masalai

Not on a canoe - a good canoe is for paddling and should not need an ama... a Voyaging canoe is usually a "catamaran" or of "twin hull form" for stability and carries some form of sail assist - See what you can google from wikipaedia of the Polynesian & Melanesian peoples of the Pacific....

Where an "outrigger" is used it is often just a shaped log. and their length / beam ratio related to the availability of the log and the mass of the fattest person....

3. dogfuel

dogfuel Junior Member

ama length

Thanks for the reply - I should have clarified that I was asking about a sailing outrigger canoe. The purpose and need for the second hull is clear, just wondering why the need to be long as I've seen on almost all examples.

Looks like most amas are 75-100% vaka length - Seems to the ignorant (me) that 50% main hull length (with the same displacement) or so would provide the stability (and weight if needed) and put a lot less stress on the craft, so allowing a lighter build. Also seems easier to tack and to right if turtled.

J

4. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

Hi DG.

The length of the Ama is often a question of cost in time and materials, certainly for traditional builders. And, as Mas so succinctly put it, how big an arse does it have to support. Some outriggers can be even longer than the main hull.
    There is a current discussion on Proas (which are just outrigger canoes with attitude) ,for example, at