A kayak, kinda?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by charlief1, Oct 25, 2015.

1. charlief1

charlief1 Junior Member

Several years ago I got the bug to build my own boat, and should've gotten my head examined instead.:D I ended up looking at a lot of designs and settled on a pirogue since this was my first and it was simple. Did a lot of reading and even used autocad to design it. It turned out ok and I used it for a while but noticed some design issues I didn't like, especially in windy situations. It was damaged and instead of fixing it right away I let it sit so it's not worth repairing at this point.

I decided to make something a little more versatile to replace it now and I think I've got a good solution for a basic fishing/pleasure boat with a few twists. I'm not an engineer but I've done quite a bit of fabrication in the automotive field since I'm an automotive tech and deal with race cars with some of the stuff I do.

What I came up with I call a canyak since I'll be sitting high, but not on top. OAL is 13.25' with a beam at between 40 and 42". This is a multi-chine design with a base width of 32" and a slight V shape on the bottom. It's primary propulsion is by kayak paddle but I'm thinking about adding a small sail just in case I want to get across some of the lakes in the area easier. Yes, it's wider than a kayak should be, I know. I always like to do design models so I can get a better idea of the shape of what I'm building and this model is made out of luan paneling that I had laying around. I reduced the measurements x10 and then made it's twice that size so I could work on it easier. The top front has a slight curve to it and the top back is flat but angled to the back to help shed water easier, as well as give me a standing surface if I want to stand for casting or something else.