Introduction and Project Ideas

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by classicglastron, Nov 10, 2009.

1. classicglastron

classicglastron New Member

Hello,
    Thank You for the opportunity to join a great site such as this! I am a college student at SUNY Oswego in Oswego, NY on the shores of Lake Ontario. All of my life I have been very interested in boats and grew up on,in, and around boats of all shapes and sizes. I essentially learned to walk aboard a boat. Therefore, the water of the lakes and rivers of New York run through my veins. During my young life I have worked at a marina as an apprentice and now as an old outboard mechanic along with owning my own small outboard repair business out of my garage. I have also helped my dad build a boat and am working on the ongoing restoration of my daily boat, a 1959 Glastron Fireflite with a 1957 Evinrude BigTwin outboard.

At this point, I am becoming increasingly interested in designing and building my own boat. I have been studying the works of Phil Bolger and Thomas Firth Jones with much excitement. Also, I am studying the works of some of the greatest designers such as R. Buckminster Fuller and many others. In a Design Probe class I am participating in right now, we are to propose and design a project. I would love to design and model my boat ideas for this class. It will probably be a hybrid style Bolger hull with some Fuller style touches. Power will come from one of my classic outboards that I am pondering some "green" modifications for. Does anyone have any Bolger hull photos or plans that they could possibly share or any personal ideas or thoughts they would be willing to share. Please know that I have no commercial interests and will not steal any ideas put forth. Thank you very much for your time and thoughts and the chance to to post on this great site.
    Forrest

2. sogarro

sogarro New Member

Perkins T6.354

Hello Forum,