Interior Design Software

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ielmazi, Feb 23, 2005.

1. ielmazi

ielmazi New Member

Hello,

I work as a junior stock analyst, covering the software sector for a Canadian brokerage. We are currently in the process of performing background research on a company that manufactures and sells interior design software which produces photo-realistic renderings. The company concentrates on the residential and commercial office markets, however we view the aircraft/RV/yacht interior design visualization markets as potential opportunities for expansion and would like to determine market size, competitors already in the space, etc.

I know that you are likely very busy, however we would appreciate your assistance in answering the following short questions:

1) What boating interior design 3D rendering software packages exist?
    2) What do you believe is the most common software package used in the industry or are hand drawing by far the most popular?
    3) We have found it difficult to obtain good market data. Could you point us to any sources that would help us gather market facts (market size, the process one would go through in purchasing and designing a yacht, main software competitors etc.)?

2. ABoatGuy

ABoatGuy Member

See: www.3dviz.com

Some of the best rendering I have every seen (interiors and exteriors). I believe they are using Rhino for construction and 3D Studio Max for rendering. Pretty spectacular stuff and reasonable. I'm sure they can tell you who there competition is and they probably have a pretty good grip on the available software.

(Not connected with them in any way).

3. D'ARTOIS

D'ARTOIS Senior Member