I'm new, and I want to build a concept boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Schoonner, Dec 7, 2011.

1. Schoonner

Schoonner Senior Member

I love sailboats. Especially cruisers you can live on. I have a design that I will soon be making into a 3d model. I call my design a "SLumpy" design. Technically it has more than one keel. The prow also acts somewhat like a keel and will have some ballast.

Would it be too difficult to build something like this from wood covered with fiberglass?
    [​IMG]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Wood IS stronger than fiberglass right!?! I'm new to ship building, but I understand physics a little.

EDIT:: I think it should be about 36' long and 12' wide. picture is NOT to scale, think of it being on a bar napkin. =0)

1 person likes this.
  2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Lose the ballast at the front of the boat. That is an ill advised idea. Every effort should be made to minimize the weight at the ends of the boat. That includes the weight of items that might be stored near the ends. A 36 foot boat that has a 12 foot beam is kind of fatty. Performance is not likely to be worthy of honest bragging at the yacht club bar.

Yes you can build this in wood covered with FRP.,,,, I would advise against the design but not the construction material.

3. Schoonner

Schoonner Senior Member