I want to start sailing/build my sailboat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by SPI-sail, Jun 9, 2008.

1. SPI-sail

SPI-sail Total noob with a dream

I have lived near South Padre Island, Texas my whole life and have always been involved in watersports, but I have only sailed twice. I have finally decided that I need a new hobby, and sailing it is! One of my other hobbies is woodworking, so I thought I would combine the two (Ive made a poker table, gun racks, and a skimboard). I have been researching boats and boat designs for only about a week and finally found what seems to be a good boat building forum. So I need some design help and thought I would ask here by telling you guys my needs/requirements/thoughts for the boat. I'd liek to just cruise with friends, do some snorkeling, maybe an over night stay out on the water (ill be roughing it.)

-I was thinking ~12feet, I'd like to be able to take 1-3 people with me
    -be able to beach without causing damage
    -trailerable
    -have an easy to use sailing rig
    -bay riding mostly, I doubt I would venture out into the gulf, maybe when i am an experienced sailor
    -I have all the basic electric saws, drills, sanders
    -what kind of wood do I use
    -I wanted to use a proven hull design and then customize the rest of the boat
    -something I can build basic, and then add to later
    -I might want to add a small motor on the back so I would need an area for that
    -place to mount oars

Price... I was hoping to be able to do this for ~$800-$1200 (not including trailer) and it will be a long project

This is what I had in mind (just a quick sketch without the sail)
    http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/6624/scannerpic1uw1.jpg
    Sorry its sideways

Any tips or plans that are similar to what I want?

2. leuz2008

leuz2008 New Member