Hydrodynamics of small pontoon boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Nexus77, Jun 26, 2015.

1. Nexus77

Nexus77 New Member

Hi all

This is my first time posting on the forum, although I have read it many times over the years. Thanks for a great forum!

I want to build a small pontoon boat for fishing and I have a question about the hydrodynamics of the sterns of the pontoons. Everybody agrees that you need pointed (e.g. cone-shaped or spoon-shaped) bows on the pontoons. But I see some differing opinions about the sterns. Some people say a blunt (square) stern is okay, while others say you also need a pointed stern to reduce the turbulence.

If I look at commercial designs, I see a mix of both. I also see some designs that look like a compromise between the two with a somewhat pointed stern, but not as pointed or sharp as the bow.

I guess the bow needs to be able to cut through waves, so that may be a factor.

The two PVC pontoons will be about 12 feet long and 14 inches in diameter. I will use an electric trolling motor for propulsion so the speeds will be low. I have attached a picture of 3 options, just to guide the discussion. Option 1 shows a symmetrical design with pointed bows and sterns. Option 2 shows pointed bows with less pointed sterns. Option 3 shows pointed bows with blunt sterns.