hydoplane design engineers ?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by afrhydro, Dec 25, 2009.

1. afrhydro

afrhydro Senior Member

i got a get this boat to quit flying so high
    i was thinking of adding some smaller sponson to the outside corners of the afterplane like the unlimitieds have kinda
    or can this just be done as simiple as adding some reverse air traps
    i posted some pictures for references

thanks for any help

Attached Files:

2. mark775

mark775 Guest

Pretty boat. Always a balance between taking off and stuffing, I'd take the former. Doesn't do you much good, but I believe the F1 guys are all going with more rounded, mor controllable front ends so they aren't so touchy. I'm not a hydro expert, as few are (but was around them a lot when I was young), and it's difficult to give advice that, if it's wrong, could cause a serious accident. Can you feel it start to take off and have to back off on the throttle? Is there any type of control surface on the leading edge?

3. Tcubed

Tcubed Boat Designer

Isn't the whole point to just barely touch the water?

What are you worried about?

If it is control then i understand since these types of boat are extremely unstable aerodynamically and when at speed are essentially ekranoplanes with the weight way too far back.

For this i would say that the best approach is to accept the fact that it is essentially a wannabe airplane and work the aerodynamics of it.

There are many options if you are not restricted by race rules. the main thing is to get your aerodynamic center over , or aft of your CG. After that it is a matter of trim.

If you are bound by race rules it gets very complicated indeed.

This is only a quick reply and may not be relevant to what you have in mind.....

4. afrhydro

afrhydro Senior Member

yea its flying its very managable @ 70 mph anything more and ill needs a set of wings and flaps
    which im not aposed to trying anyhow
    i did start to make a canard for the front