Hull Waterline Length to Beam

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by longngone, Oct 20, 2004.

1. longngone

longngone Junior Member

I read that the beam should be 4:1 waterline length. I know that it is possible to increase that, but what are the effects of increasing the beam substantially? thanks. Say 48' waterline length, and 18' waterline beam.

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

What type of boat?. What speed to length ratio? What is the mission? There are no absolutes in boat design. Everything is a compormise.

3. longngone

longngone Junior Member

I'm designing a sportfishing yacht that is currently 48ft at the wl, and 18ft beam, and currently beginning a new file with 16ft beam. I want to cruise easily at 35 knots. When I started I didn't mean to end up with an 18ft beam, but once I got there, that made me curious about effects on performance. I am a novice designer, but a descent captain, and know what I want. As far as the calcs go, I'm lost. Speed to Length ratio: Can I design towards a specific S:L by horsepower, or is that a constant?

4. FAST FRED

FAST FRED Senior Member

No problem , just be sure to spec a pair of 2000+HP MTU.

Plaining boats work on vastly different principals than displacement boats that push thru the water, so closer to a box is OK .

FAST FRED

5. longngone

longngone Junior Member

Great thanks. Currently I have C18's in my drawings, may not be enough hp for the design.

6. plain_sailing

plain_sailing Junior Member

noway

If u use such a small L/B ratio it will be catastrophic for the performance of the hull. Resistance due to waves may reach 12 times !!!!! resistance due to friction. U can see this in Bailey's study about small vessels hydrodynamics. In order to reach a speed of 15 knots u will have to power the hull with an engine of at least 600 HP nominal power.
    Think about it again !!

7. longngone

longngone Junior Member

thanks for the input! It's very helpful!

8. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member