Hull for Amphibius Aircraft - New Comer

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by cjgadget, May 11, 2011.

1. cjgadget

cjgadget New Member

I am new to the group, and very poorly versed in hull design, or with anything pertaining to boats for that matter...

I am a commercial pilot with a degree in aerospace engineering, with experience in control systems design(mostly electrical stuff). I am also building a composite aircraft called a Cozy Mk IV.

I am doing some brainstorming on an aircraft design, similar to a Nardi Riviera. I have some idea of what the airframe design needs to look like and the construction methods used if I were to design with composites, but I am completely clueless about the hull. What types of constructions can be used? What is the work flow in determining the shape of the hull w/ regard to acceleration and speed requirements(takeoff distance). How due I assure the center of pressure and center of gravity locations provide for a stable hull? Are there simplifications I can make in the analysis.. i.e., can I just design a "boat" with similar weight/capacity to get a rough idea of things?

I know this is an extremely broad inquiry. I do expect this endeavor to take up a good portion of my life(20-30 years). But, I am interested in starting learning - if not only to determine it'll always be outside my capability.. Any help or references would be very much appreciated!

Thanks.

-John

2. Squidly-Diddly

Squidly-Diddly Senior Member

how about skiis like the SeaDart?

[​IMG]

Note there was also a single ski(deep-V) version of this.

I'd imagine the biggest fear of the seaplane pilot is finding you have nowhere to land due to sea-state.

Skiis on mechanical shock absorbers should greatly increase the landable range of sea-state, and maybe the takeoff-able sea-state. Maybe incorporate land wheels into it.