How many layers to bullet proofness?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ScottK, Feb 1, 2010.

1. ScottK

ScottK Landlubber

I read that the Ocean Master fiber glass boats claim to be bullet proof http://oceanmaster.net/articles/article-bullet-proof.htm by using 14 to 20 layers of fiber glass. How many layers of fiberglass does a normal sailing yacht use?

The above bullet proof hulls actually do mean they can stop a bullet.

I have never built a boat before, so this may be a silly question to you. And I am not sure if they are using sandwich construction or one layer.

And I don't expect anyone to answer how many layers it takes to stop a bullet, being that there are too many variables. I just want to know how many layers is normal?

Scott

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Fiberglass is good at puncture resistance. They don't say layers of what wieght or type they use, but it is possible. 9mm bullets if they are lead have little penetration on hard surfaces. The large caliber rifle round they claim has no data for type or distance so means nothing.

3. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

A lot depends upon the particular bullet. I know that several bullets are capable of going through 20 fg layers as though it were cheese.

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Armor piercing of medium caliber would.

5. capt vimes

capt vimes Senior Member

bulettproof vests are maid of layers of aramid - as far as i remember - loosely connected...
    a ship hull is build of the same fibres (sometimes - usually its either carbon or glass) but they are covered, soaked and backed in resin... giving a solid, sturd and stiff structure... not bulletproof at all - no matter how much layers of fibre you have in there...
    of course - make a hull thick enough and it will eat up bullets in the end... ;)