How to make photovoltaic solarpanels to suit our boatdesign

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by BertKu, Feb 14, 2010.

1. BertKu

BertKu Senior Member

Today, it is possible to get all the ingrediemts to make a good photovoltaic solarpanel. Sometimes the shape of the square panels does not suits the design of the boat and by making our own panel, we could get the right dimensions. Most of is need a panel in anyway, for our house, caravan or boat. Provided we are more costeffective then buying a complete panel.

One has to bear in mind however that you need a number of cells in serial to get the right voltage at low ambient and higher ambient temperature. Also the regulator need some extra "juice" (voltage). The standard is 18 cells for 6 Volt and 36 Cells for 12 Volt system.

I always prefer to put an extra 37th or 19th cell into the system, as then by low light levels or wrong angle of the lightbeam, still something is charging the battery.

I am not an expert, but maybe together we can make some cost effective panels by exchanging some crucial details needed to make them.

a) we need a reliable supplier for the cells.
    is this the one??? http://www.quadmodsusa.com/solarcells.html

b) we need the best price for the cells.
    c) we need anodized alluminium or alluminium which is powdercoated.
    d) we need suppliers of hardened glass on which we can walk. 3,2 mm hardened glass.
    e) we need to discuss special shapes, like a circle, would that be nice to have it in such a shape.
    f) the connections, what is the best.
    g) the layer between baseplate and the very brittle solar cells and the next layer between glass and cells.
    h) what type of glue should be used. etc.

Well shall we go for it to make our own panels??

2. CDK

CDK retired engineer

An interesting supplier. I think they buy and sell overstock items, so we must keep watching their offers. At this moment I saw only polycrystalline cells.