How to make a name for yourself !

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Tim_Hastie, Jun 1, 2004.

1. Tim_Hastie

Tim_Hastie Junior Member

Hello

I need some help. I have been working around boats for the past 15 years. I have been designing for around 6 years. I have drawn hundreds of boats and build many as well, some that get a great deal of press. But I have always worked under other people who do not give credit where credit is due. I am tired of making other people look good. My question to "you the people" is how do I make a name for myself ? I am sure there are many others like me that would like the advice as well.

Thanks for listening.

Tim Hastie

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Guest

Publish,race or die

Send some of your work to the design editors of the various magazines; include your work on this site if possible.
    Find someone to build one of your boats and race it if it's a sailboat or take a long cruise in it if it's either power or sail.
    Try to get your work talked about (reveiwed by magazine technical editors,ect).Publicize anything you may have patented.
    Try to negotiate a contract that gives you fair credit for what you've done or will do.
    Show your work PERSONALLY,if possible to famous sailors if its a sailboat or to famous powerboat people if not.
    Good Luck! Hang in there!

3. Tim_Hastie

Tim_Hastie Junior Member

Thanks for the reply. Most of my work has been commercial up to about 6 months ago. I have done ribs, fireboat, high speed barges and gun boats etc. It has been an interesting change because now I am working on some trawlers for Keen Boats. Have you or anyone done commercial work as well as pleasure ? or is it uncommon to design in both areas ?

TIM

4. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Guest

commercial work

None for me....Maybe you could submit articles to publications such as "Professional Mariner"....

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 1, 2004
  5. SeaDrive

SeaDrive Senior Member