How Do Things Work In This Industry??

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by jdworld, Nov 24, 2009.

1. jdworld

jdworld Junior Member

Yeah, I know, silly title - but i couldn't really think of how to summarize my big questions any better. I'm a newbie to this thread, and the world of boat design. I come from the building design end of the spectrum. So lets get right to it:

1)How do you people make your money? I mean with buildings, a house for example, someone comes to you and hires you to design their dream home for them. You design it, draw it up, and it's handed off to a contractor to build. Is it the same with boat design? Does most of your work come from private individuals who just need their dream boat designed for them and they pay you for your time to put together a design and some drawings? Then they go and have someone build it for them? Are there that many people out there with that kind of dough able to just hire someone to design their dreamboat for them? If so, seems like as a boat designer, you'd have to have a side gig to sustain you in between the occasional big yacht design job that might come along. Yes?

2) Or do you make your living(s) designing as sort of an outside designer for the boat manufacturers? Don't they have people do that in house?

3) And most important, If designing for mfgrs and not private individuals, we're no longer talking a one-off thing. It's intellectual property that can be replicated. So do you license the final design to them and get royalties from the manufacturers? Or is the standard rule that they just hire you as a work for hire type arrangement?