Help with LCG LCF and LCB!!

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by fede, Feb 20, 2004.

1. fede

fede Senior Member

Hi guys,I'm studying about stability metters,I realized that I have a bit of confusion in my head when speaking of LCG LCB and LCF.
    LCG : long. centre of gravity.
    LCB : " " buoyancy
    LCF : " " of Floatation

My textbook says LCB is the centre of the hull (translating from italian)
    principles of yacht design says it' the centre of the volume of displaced water...is this the same thing??
    LCF is the long. centre of the water plane area.
    LCG is the long centre of gravity....
    How do I get the CG of a bare hull ? from what I get CG equals the sum of all component's static moments (calculated from sect.0) divided by total weight.
    Then...how do these C. relate with each other? how do they move when the hull is heeled?
    Thanks for your help!
    fede

2. Stephen Ditmore

Stephen Ditmore Senior Member

LCB = Longitudinal Center of Boyancy = The centroid of the underwater volume of the boat expressed as a longitudinal location. Unless otherwise specified LCB is usually understood to be the centroid when the boat is floating on its datum waterline (DWL) with zero trim.

LCG = Longitudinal Center of Gravity. A boat will trim until the trimmed LCB is directly below (or above, but in any case vertically in column with) the LCG. If you know a vessel's MT1 (moment to trim an inch, or, in Europe, a cm) you can use the distance between the datum LCB and the actual LCG, times the displacement, to make a first approximation of trim.

LCF = Longitudinal Center of Flotation = center of the waterplane. When you are considering the addition of new weight (cargo) and you want to calculate its effect without having to recalculate the LCG of the whole vessel, use the distance from the LCF to the CG of the added cargo.